DONATE NOW   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Become a Member
Spirit of Folk Awards

Spirit of Folk Awards

These awards are presented to honor and celebrate people and organizations actively involved in the promotion and preservation of folk music through their creative work, their community building, and their demonstrated leadership.

2017 Spirit of Folk Award Winners

Barbara Dane

Joined by Pete Seeger in Detroit for her first concert in 1946, Barbara Dane has consistently used her voice and her platform wherever people are fighting for peace and justice. Throughout her long and extraordinary life, her work includes decades of collaborations with folk, jazz, blues and world music artists, from Louis Armstrong and Mikis Theodorakis to Lightnin’ Hopkins and Silvio Rodriguez.


Chloe Goodyear

A long-term senior staff member of the Woodford Folk Festival, one of Australia’s largest events whose mission is to stimulate, facilitate and foster the preservation and promotion of folk culture for the common good. Chloe was the executive producer of the Museum of New and Old Art’s Festival of Music and Art and more recently set up the Australian edition of The Festival Of Small Halls which tours domestic and international artists through rural Australia.


Michelle Conceison

Michelle is a fan and advocate who is moved by songs and inspired to help the artists who write them. She started managing artists in 2001 and launched Market Monkeys in 2004, providing management and marketing services to a wide range of artists including Rose Cousins, Kris Delmhorst, Winterbloom, Lucy Kaplansky and many more. Michelle has served on the FAI board of directors since 2010, serving as an exemplary President and leader the past two years.


Ramy Essam

In 2010, Ramy Essam became the musical voice of the Arab Spring when his song “Irhal” (recognized by Time Out magazine, as one of the top three Songs That Changed History) became the anthem of the Egyptian revolution. Imprisoned and tortured for singing activist songs, he has been living in exile in Sweden since 2014. With millions of online views he is a symbol of social activism and a beacon of uncommon bravery in the Middle East.


Si Khan

With a career spanning 52 years, Si Kahn has produced an impressive catalog including 17 CDs of original songs, a CD of labor and civil rights songs with Pete Seeger and Jane Sapp, songs and scripts for seven musicals, three books, and one co-authored book with public philosopher Elizabeth Minnich. His work has always been an extension of his committed work for civil rights, unions, the environment, and community organizing.


SONiA disappear fear

A vocal and steady advocate for LGBT rights and progressive political issues. SONiA disappear fear is the recipient of many awards, including the Coin of Honor from the US Army for her humanitarian efforts, and the GLAAD award for Best Album. She is one voice and one guitar, bending sound and light into songs with music and has been described as “a vivid celebration of the human spirit in all its infinite manifestations.”


Past Spirit of Folk Recipients

Year Recipients
 2016  Troy Campbell, Violet Hensley, Sam Lee, Dave Siglin, Phyllis Stenson, Tony  Turner
 2015  Dana Cooper, Tom Coxworth, David Hirshland, Sheena Keane, Shelley  Nordstrom, Folk Alliance Australia
 2014  Jim Kweskin, Brewer & Shipley, Danny Cox, Bob McWilliams, Bob & Diana  Suckiel, Chuck Haddix 
 2013  Bernie Finkelstein, Sylvia Tyson, Tam Kearney, Enoch Kent, Holmes Hooke
 2012  James Luther "Jim" Dickinson, Skipper Paul "Skip" McQuinn
 2011  Dan Navarro, John Hartford, Two Way Street Coffee House, David  Bromberg,  Rodney Dillard and the Dillards, Tom Neff
 2010  Richard Flohil, Howard and Roz Larman, Vic & Reb Heyman, Mike Seeger,  Gene Shay, Rounder Records
 2009  Mitch Podolak, Valerie Denn
 2008   Dalis Allen - SWRFA, Kari Estrin - SERFA, FARM, Renee Bodie - FAR-West,  Dianne Tankle - NERFA

Folk Alliance International, 509 Delaware St #101, Kansas City MO 64105 • 816-221-FOLK (3655) •

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal